Wall mounted Spoon Rack

Image

For the past few weeks, I have been racking my brain trying to figure out the best way to mount wood flush to the wall without using mounting hardware. Last week, I finally uncovered the secret.

I have been working on a spoon set with wall mounted rack and I just wasn’t satisfied with the wall mounting methods I was familiar with. I thought about drilling through the bottom of the spoon rack and then drilling to meet that hole through the back of the rack but that leaves a troublesome hole in the bottom that needs to be plugged. Way too much work for something so sloppy. There is, of course, a variety of wall mounting hardware which either doesn’t lay flat against the wall or I have to create an hole for the hardware to fit in.

I’m standing there staring at the rack and the nail to mount it to when it came to me I could use a saw file to create teeth in the nail head.

Image

Image

 From there, it’s just a matter of drilling a hole in the back, using the “nail head saw” to undercut, and create a groove for the shaft of the nail to fit into. Its easy and, provided you have a nail and a saw file, there is nothing to buy.

Image

Image

Image

After that, the rest of the project was a breeze. I ripped out the L shape from a single piece of of cherry and bored and cut the slots for the spoons. A little chisel work and linseed oil to finish it off.

Image

The spoon set and rack are available for purchase here:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/161083823/hand-carved-cherry-wooden-spoon-set-of?ref=shop_home_feat

About Anthony Wilder

I am an artisan woodworker from Grand Rapids, MI. Woodworking is my passion and I do all my work with hand tools. We can learn a lot from past methods and mindsets and I am working towards teaching the lost art of working wood.
This entry was posted in Green Woodworking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wall mounted Spoon Rack

  1. Pingback: How To Bend And Mount Spoons - I Love DIY

Leave a Reply

