Faith

I was driving past a thrift store on my way to ship some orders and was compelled to stop. I walked in and immediately noticed a pair of brand new Prada leather boots. I picked them up for around $3 and re-sold them for around $200. I had recently been asking God for a carving axe (the one I have been using is more of a camp hatchet) and I used the money to buy a Gränsfors Bruk Swedish Carving Axe. This axe is phenomenal for carving spoons and I couldn’t be happier.

(On a side note, I am always harking on the concept of function over fashion so the novelty of trading high fashion boots for something as useful and practical as an axe was not lost on me)

DSCF3806

I have taken my work to the next level this year by moving from part time to full time woodworking. It requires a degree of faith to make that transition. For me it’s simple, God has given each of us a passion and with that expects us to produce “fruit”. I have a passion for folk tradition, woodworking, and serving those who serve. I spent some time in homeless ministry and have worked at a couple of food banks. This is exhausting work and one can get “burnt out” very quickly and I plan to create space for those in ministry to unwind and recharge. I am slowly making the transition to teaching as my skills improve and will help carry on the folk traditions and culture that are so precious and fragile in the post industrial world.

About Anthony Wilder

I am an artisan woodworker from Grand Rapids, MI. Woodworking is my passion and I do all my work with hand tools. We can learn a lot from past methods and mindsets and I am working towards teaching the lost art of working wood.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

