Inspiration

DSCN3937

In Norse Mythology, Odin, desiring the knowledge of the ancients goes to Mímisbrunnr to drink from Mimir’s well. To drink from the well, Odin must sacrifice one of his eyes. In the same way, in order to understand history we must put out our modern eye and see with the perspectives of the time.

palenque-carving  mouse spoon

I am inspired by past ways of life and artifacts and hope that it has had an impact on my own craft. I love the Mayan script, and have been greatly influenced by it in my carving.

This latest spoon contains Egyptian, Mayan, and Swedish elements.

spooncarving1layout

This spoon is layed out with the oblong bowl typical of Ancient Egyptian spoons.

spooncarving2bowl

The green wood yields readily to my gouge even in this Hornbeam blank.

spooncarving3profileax

Here is the spoon after the ax work. I’ve learned to be bold and cut very near to the layout.

spooncarvingknifework4

Refinements are made with the knife and the blank must dry before the final carving.

fishspoon

Here is the finished spoon with a carving inspired by Mayan script.

About Anthony Wilder

I am an artisan woodworker from Grand Rapids, MI. Woodworking is my passion and I do all my work with hand tools. We can learn a lot from past methods and mindsets and I am working towards teaching the lost art of working wood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration

Leave a Reply

