Historical replica. Well.. sort of.

mouse1

I just finished this reproduction of a spoon I copied from an ancient Egyptian one. I appreciate the irony in a household pest turned household vessel and the dignity given this humble wooden mouse being included alongside the gold relics in its royal tomb.

mouse3  mouse4

This is not a true replica, however, as I couldn’t find the dimensions or a photo of the back side. This is made from wild black cherry which was certainly not the wood used for the original. Even so, I enjoyed carving this piece of history and am looking forward to doing more spoons like this.

About Anthony Wilder

I am an artisan woodworker from Grand Rapids, MI. Woodworking is my passion and I do all my work with hand tools. We can learn a lot from past methods and mindsets and I am working towards teaching the lost art of working wood.
This entry was posted in Green Woodworking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

