Do the twist.

cherryblanks

Wood can be like a brightly wrapped Christmas present. You don’t really know whats inside until you open it. You can tell a bit just by looking at it and a little more by the way it sounds but the true test is on the inside.

twistTwisted grain is one of the more disappointing surprises but dont throw it into the firewood pile just yet, it can still make a good spoon without a lot of effort. When I find a twist, I hew the bark side strait along the length parallel with one end of the pith side of the log. This gives you a strait, parallel section to carve the bowl and a skewed section for the handle where its less important. When roughing out the spoon, I leave a little more space on the handle to correct any twist that may happen after drying.

 

About Anthony Wilder

I am an artisan woodworker from Grand Rapids, MI. Woodworking is my passion and I do all my work with hand tools. We can learn a lot from past methods and mindsets and I am working towards teaching the lost art of working wood.
This entry was posted in Green Woodworking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

